Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil – Melina Marchetta

****/*****

I’d never read a Melina Marchetta book; in fact, I’d never heard of her. But the enthusiasm on Goodreads for her new novel intrigued me so…request made and granted. And I’m so so glad it was.

There’s a bomb on a bus carrying a bunch of English kids through Normandy for the summer and the granddaughter of a former terrorist on board. This is really all you need to know going in. That, and that Bish is a great character. In some ways he reminds me of Rowling’s Cormoran Strike (and don’t think the fact that I was concurrently reading this and listening to those books has escaped me :)). He’s kind of sad sack and kind of bad ass and all heart. I love these kinds of detective characters. It’s like Lennie Briscoe on Law and Order. I want him to follow me around and protect me but he also needs a hug.

I really enjoyed this novel and will definitely look into reading more of Marchetta’s stuff. The writing is excellent and the characters well drawn. 4 stars and looking forward to more from this author. 

Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC!  

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment